PATIALA LIFT UNDER 23 TROPHY.



Patiala won the Under 23 trophy on basis of their first innings lead against Mohali in the finals played at I.S. Bindra Stadium, PCA Mohali. Resuming at overnight 24 for no loss Patiala lost their first wicket at the score of 63 in 22.2 overs when their opener Mandeep Inder Singh Bawa was snapped by wicket keeper Harsrup off Jass Inder for 31 off 68 balls studded with 5 boundaries. Mandeep's departure brought Sahil Sharma to the stage and the duo started building up the Patiala innings and in the process hammered a 101 runs partnership for the second wicket. The partnership was broken when opener Sanvir Singh was castled by Jass Inder Singh for a well made 88 off 143 balls studded with 9 boundaries and one six. At this stage Patiala was on course with the total reading 164 for 2 in 48.3 overs. Former Under -19 sensation Anmolpreet Singh did not last long as he was trapped in front by left arm spinner Harpreet Brar for 12 off 23 balls with 2 boundaries. Anmolpreet Singh's departure triggered a minor collapse as Akul Pandove was snapped by wicket keeper Harsrup off Jassinder for 3 while Sagar Kumar was caught by Yadav off Harpreet Brar for 12 reducing Patiala to 207 for 5 in 64 overs. The match at this stage was in balance with Patiala requiring 100 runs for the vital first

innings lead while Mohali needed to capture 5 wickets. Off spinner Jass Inder struck a vital blow for Mohali as he removed the set batsman Sahil Sharma whom he had caught by Yadav for 76 off 140 balls with 8 boundaries and two sixes. At this stage Patiala were 237 for 6 in 72.2 overs. Wicket keeper Anmol Malhotra and Ekjot Singh Thind then dug in their heels to slowly take their side past the 300 mark but soon after Jass Inder struck again to have Ekjot Thind caught by Ramandeep for 33 off 61 balls inclusive of 1 boundary and one six with the total reading 305 for 7 in 92.3 overs. IPL Sensation Mayank Markande joined Anmol Malhotra with 2 runs needed for the first innings lead which was achieved by wicket keeper Anmol Malhotra who carried his bat through with a accomplished half century 54 off 91 balls with 2 boundaries and one six. Patiala were 314 for 7 in 95 overs when the match ended. For Mohali off Spinner Jass Inder Singh 5 for 131, and Harpreet Brar 2 for 114 were the main wicket takers. Patiala were declared winners on the first innings lead. Mr. Balbir singh former Ranji Trophy player and Senior Selector, PCA gave away the trophy and Cash prize to the winners and runners up. Mohali got a cash prize of Rs.75,000/- while Patiala received the trophy and a cash prize of Rs.1,50,000/-. The final match was watched by Mr. Yash Pal Sharma former Test player and Chairman Senior Selection Committee alongwith other members. Punjab are the reigning National Champions Col. C.K. Nayudu Trophy (Under 23).